Bermuda to stage Grand Slam for two more years

HAMILTON, Bermuda – The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is to remain in Bermuda for two more years, officials announced on Wednesday.

Tourism Minister Wayne Furbert hailed the announcement as “great news for Bermuda”.

San Diego, California had also reportedly been in the running to stage next year’s Grand Slam.

Government-run Port Royal will again play host to the 36-hole season-ending showcase event featuring the season’s four major winners, having staged it for the past four years.

Bermuda’s private Mid Ocean Club staged the Slam in 2007 and 2008, after then-Premier and Tourism Minister Dr Ewart Brown won the battle to bring the Slam to Bermuda at an annual cost to the government of US$1.5 million.

“The PGA of America is honoured to continue the PGA Grand Slam of Golf tradition on the island of Bermuda through 2014 at the Port Royal Golf Course,” PGA of America president Ted Bishop said.

“Bermuda has embraced the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, serving as an exemplary host the past six years and delivering unmatched hospitality and community support for the game’s elite foursome.

“We are excited to once again join the Bermuda Department of Tourism in showcasing Bermuda as a premier golf and tourism destination by presenting the PGA Grand Slam of Golf to the world.”

The Grand Slam will be televised by US network TNT on October 15 and 16 next year and again in 2014, the PGA of America announced.

TNT’s prime-time broadcast of the event reaches an estimated audience of more than 400 million households in more than 85 countries.

The Grand Slam features a $1.35 million purse, with the winner receiving $600,000, second place $300,000, third place $250,000, and fourth place $200,000.

Established in 1979, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf has grown from an 18-hole, single-day charity event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf’s best against each other.

Irishman Padraig Harrington, a last-minute replacement for injured British Open winner Ernie Els of South Africa, won this year’s Grand Slam.

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter

View the original article here

coded by nessus
Post Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.